Best for small must for all
  • Sign in | Register
Home city guide navathirupathi temples in thoothukudi

Navathirupathi Temples in Thoothukudi

Roosted in the southern most part of Indian Peninsula, Tamil Nadu is popularly referred as 'Land of Temples'. In point of fact, Tamil Nadu houses more than 30,000 temples across its length and breadth. A trip to Tamil Nadu will not be complete without visiting its historic temples scattered all over the state.
Om Namo Narayana

Navathirupathi Temples in Thoothukudi are one among the most significant set of temples, that is, nine Vishnu temples. In fact, pilgrims use to cover all the nine Navathirupathi temples in a span of two to three days.

In simple words, Nava Tirupathi Temples are nine different temples situated at nine different locations, all dedicated to Lord Vishnu. All the nine temples are located in Tiruchendur-Tirunelveli route and staying in Tirunelveli or Thoothukudi is the best way to cover the Navathirupathi Temples.

Map of Navathirupathi

Furthermore, all the nine temples are classed as 'Divya Desams', the 108 temples of Lord Vishnu named by Tamil Azhvars. The distinctiveness of Navathirupathi Temples is that there are no individual sannidhis for Navagrahams (nine planets/celestial bodies) as the primary deity himself is a graham (planet) in these temples. Pilgrims visit these temples for easement from the inauspicious consequences of the positions of grahams in their life. Let's get to more about the Navathirupathi temples in detail.

Sri Vaikuntanatha Temple - Sun or Sooriyan

Regarded as the first and foremost temple among the Navathirupathi temples, Sri Vaikuntanatha Temple is located in Srivaikuntam, Thoothukudi district. Legend has it that Lord masked himself as a stealer and faced the King to bring through the real culprit. Therefore, the festival deity here is also called as KallaPiran - 'Kalla' meaning thief in Tamil.

Sri Vaikuntanatha Temple

Besides, most of the Vishnu temples across India feature the presiding deity in a leaning back posture with Adishesha snake spreading his hood over the deity. In this temple, the presiding deity is in a standing posture with the Adishesha spreading his hood above the deity, a unique view of Lord Vishnu in Divya Desams.


Highlights: On the sixth day of Tamil month Chittirai (April), the Sun rays directly fall on the presiding deity as a token of worship every year

Location: Srivaikuntam, Thoothukudi (28.7 km from Tirunelveli)
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Sri Vaikuntanathan
Festival Deity (Urchavar): Sri Kallapiran
Consort (Thayar): Vaikuntanayaki, Chornathanayaki (Bhudevi)
Temple Tank (Theertham): Brighu Theertha
Timings: 7:30 AM to 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Thiru Varagunamangai Perumal Temple - Moon/Chandran

Thiru Varagunamangai Perumal Temple

Widely referred as the Natham Perumal kovil, the temple houses Sri Vijayssana Perumal. The presiding deity is in a majestic seated posture resembling an enthroned triumphant king. The renowned temple is supposed to be a 'Chandran Kshetram'. It is considered that a prayer at Thiru Varagunamangai Perumal Temple will aid one attain Mukti.


Location: Natham, Thoothukudi (30.4 km from Tirunelveli)
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Sri Vijayssana Perumal
Consort (Thayar): Varagunavalli
Temple Tank (Theertham): Agni Theertha
Timings: 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Thiru Puliangudi Permual Temple - Mercury/Budhan

Thiru Puliangudi Permual Temple

Sri Kasinivendan Perumal, the presiding deity of this temple is seen in a reclining posture (Bhujanga sayanam) with a lotus stalk from his navel point ending in a flower on Brahma's persona on the wall of the sanctum sanctorum. Legend has it that Bhoodevi thayar came together with Sridevi thayar and gave darshan with Lord Vishnu at this place. Furthermore, the holy feet of Sri Kasinivendan Perumal can be viewed through a little window in the passage.


Location: Thirupuliangudi, Thoothukudi (31.7 km from Tirunelveli)
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Sri Kasinivendan Perumal
Consort (Thayar): Poomagal Nachiar, Malarmagal Nachiar, Puliankudivalli
Temple Tank (Theertham): Varuna Theertha
Timings: 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Rettai Thirupathi Temples - Raagu & Kethu

Rettai Thirupathi Temples

Popularly called as the twin temple, Irattai Tirupati Temples are located in the midst of a forest (within 100 meters from each other). The first in the twin temple features Swami Devarpiran in a standing posture facing the east side. The second temple houses Lord Aravindalochan who is in a seated posture facing the east side.

The temple tale has that Sage Suprabhar's daily lotus pooja impressed the lord and he gave darshan to the sage. Therefore, it is believed that devotees who perform lotus pooja to perumal will be freed of all sins.


Location: Thirutholavallimangalam, Thoothukudi
Raagu - Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Sri Srinivasan Thevarpiran
Raagu - Consort (Thayar): Alamelumangai
Kethu - Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Sri Aravinason/Chenthamarai Kannan
Kethu - Consort (Thayar): Karunthdankanni
Timings: 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM

Sri Mayakoothan Permual Temple - Saturn/Shani

Sri Mayakoothan Permual Temple

Legend has it that Namperumal flew on his Garuda Vahana to save thayar from a demon. Thus, Garudar is the urchava moorthy in this temple. At the end of the fight, Lord performed a victory dance on the dead body of the demon and hence the name Sri Mayakoothan.


Location: Perungulam, Thoothukudi
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Srinivasa Perumal
Festival Deity: Mayakoothan
Consort (Thayar): Alamelu Mangai Thaayar
Timings: 7:30 AM to 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM to 7:30 PM

Makara Nedunkuzhai Kannan Temple - Venus/Sukran

Makara Nedunkuzhai Kannan Temple

The temple tale says that Bhoodevi thayar got two ear rings (fish-shaped) during a penance to ease out of Sage Durvasa's curse words and extended it to Perumal. A different story says that Varuna did a penance to be freed of a curse. It is believed that Varuna (rain god) wets Makara Nedunkuzhai Kannan Temple, each year, on the full phase of the moon during the Tamil month of Panguni to have the blessings of Lord Vishnu.


Location: Thenthiruperai, Thoothukudi
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Makara Nedunkuzhai Kannan
Consort (Thayar): Thiruperai Nachiyar, Kuzhaikaduvalli
Timings 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Sri Vaithamanidhi Permual Temple - Mars/Sevvai

Sri Vaithamanidhi Permual Temple

Legend has it that Kuber (Lord of Wealth) got rescued from the curse of Parvati' at this very place. Furthermore, the Nava Nidhis of Kubera were reinstated. It is widely believed that a prayer at this temple helps the devotees to recover lost riches.


Location: Tirukkolur, Thoothukudi
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Vaithamanidhi
Consort (Thayar): Kumudavalli, Kolurvalli
Timings: 7:30 AM to 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM

Sri Adhinaatha Perumal Temple - Jupiter/Guru

Sri Adhinaatha Perumal Temple

The last of Nava Thirupathi Temples, the Alwarthirunagari Permual Temple houses Sri AadiNaatha Perumal. Lord Nambi of Thirukkurugur is considered to have been born in this place as Nammazhvaar - one of the 12 azhwar saints of Tamil Nadu. Alwarthirunagari Permual Temple celebrates Vaikasi Utsav, where the festival deities from rest of the Nava Thirupathi Temples assembled here and Paasurams are recited with Nammazhvaar sitting on his Hamsa Vahana.


Location: Alwarthirunagari, Thoothukudi
Presiding Deity (Moolavar): Sri Aathi Nathar
Consort (Thayar): Aathi Natha valli
Timings: 7:30 AM to 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM to 8:00 PM

Explore more about Thoothukudi Specials